The vegetables of a grandmother


Today, a grandmother in my neighborhood asked me if I ate the vegetables produced locally.
She had given me several times vegetables that she had grown.
It seems it’s tomato season now, and she has them abundantly.
I replied that I was eating them, but still selecting them.
It seems that her grand-daughter works in the medical sector. When the grandmother serves her at the table pumpkins or green beans, she says she will eat them later, but in fact she never eats them.
As for her son, before the disaster (of March 2011), he loved and ate every day salty pickled plums. After the disaster, he eats them no more, even after the lifting of the restriction on plums distribution.
I told the grandmother that it was sad.
No one is wrong, not the grandmother nor the son nor the grand-daughter.


I understand the feeling of the grandmother but I also understand the concern of the family members. And no one takes responsibility for this situation. It’s really absurd.

But the grandmother was well aware.
“I grow vegetables in a greenhouse, but as I aerate the greenhouse, it enters through the opening.”
I had heard that radioactivity was detected at the entrance of the greenhouse.
The grandmother said with a laugh, “We, the elderly, we eat everything.”
She also said that after the disaster she measured radioactivity, but as it is no longer detected, these days she does not measure.

_____
Published on July 9, 2015 on Facebook by a resident of Date city (in Fukushima Prefecture)
Source : Nos Voisins Lointains 3.11
http://nosvoisins311.wix.com/voisins311-france#!L%C3%A9gumes-dune-grandm%C3%A8re/c1tye/559ef1dd0cf286eab01f08a7

Leave a Reply

